Maciej Obara

Polish saxophonist inspiring the Norwegian scene and forging its closer links with the Polish jazz community.


Saxophonist, composer and improviser. In 2012, he took part in the “Take Five Europe” project, where he met Norwegian musicians: double bassist Ole Morten Vagan and percussionist Gard Nilssen, which became the beginning of his international quartet, whose lineup was completed by pianist Dominik Wania. Between 2012 and 2015, the band released three albums in the catalog of the Polish label ForTune (Live at Manggha, Komeda, Live in Mińsk Mazowiecki). In the begining of 2017, he received an invitation from the world-renowned producer Manfred Eicher to join the ranks of artists affiliated under the ECM Records label. His first album for this prestigious label was called Unloved, and this unique collaboration continued with the Three Crowns recording and with the newest album titled Frozen Silence (2023). The Polish saxophonist collaborates with top Scandinavian musicians as part of the Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra. Obara has composed a concerto for saxophone, piano and AUKSO orchestra featuring Dominik Wani orchestrated by Nikola Kolodziejczyk, as well as music for a trio with prominent French bass clarinetist Louis Sclavis for Jazztopad festival. Maciej Obara also collaborated with Tomasz Stańko.

Maciej Obara / Kit Downes / Ole Morten Vågan / Veslemøy Narvesen
Sokołowsko Jazz meets Punkt Festival 2024
The second edition of Sokołowsko Jazz, in collaboration with Norway's PUNKT, will present stylistically diverse projects.